Change

What I’m about to admit is something I’m very ashamed of: I’ve been deleting unread emails. I’m talking about the emails I get from organizations, the ones I signed up to receive. The ones which I’ve been getting and reading for years. I’ve been deleting them.

It started off as, I’ll get to it eventually. Then my inbox would be full of unopened, unread emails & eventually turned into … maybe I should delete these and start over fresh.

Rinse and repeat.

So then I started to delete them, keeping a few if the subject line intrigued me. But the subject line never intrigued me enough, so those wound up getting deleted. That led to just flat out deleting them as they came in.

There was always something else to do, something else to read, or it was too tiring to try to read after the day I’ve had.

There is always something else to do, something else to read, and there’s always something that requires less brain activity.

But there is a reason that I subscribed to these mailing lists.

There’s always something horrible going on in the world and someone has to read about it, someone has to do something about it, and I care about what is happening. I want to be a part of the solution, not the problem.

I’ve been neglecting things so much lately. (You may have noticed this already if you started reading my blog when I started it … when was that?)

Change.

Tonight, I opened the emails I got from organizations today. Granted, one was a cleverly disguised fundraising email, but that doesn’t matter. It’s the start of a change. In order to become more active again, I need to know what is going on so that I can decide what I’m interested in doing. I’m issuing a call to action for myself, this time recognizing that I might need to take baby steps to get back into the thick of things.

Sometimes you need to take a step back in order to see the path. I’m ready to continue the journey, even though I don’t know how long it will take to reach the destination or what other obstacles might be in my way.

Are you ready for change?

“Be the change you wish to see in the world.” — Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

